RSS

Our Geek n Games

22 Jan

So last night before going to bed, my husband and I were hanging out in his office as we were both on our computers.  My husband was playing mine craft which is a game he likes playing.  I watch him play it and I have played it once.  My thoughts on it was that it was interesting.  I think it’s game of survival and you have options on what you want to do to build.

Link for what Minecraft is:  http://www.minecraft.net/

If you want to be specific on what it is here is the definition: Minecraft is a sandbox construction game, inspired by InfiniminerDwarf Fortress and Dungeon Keeper, created by Markus Persson, the founder of Mojang AB. The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.

So while hubby was playing that I was managed to role-play on irc.  What is IRC?  The definition for that is this: Internet Relay Chat (IRC) is a protocol for real-time Internet text messaging (chat) or synchronous conferencing.[1] It is mainly designed for group communication in discussion forums, called channels,[2] but also allows one-to-one communication via private message[3] as well as chat and data transfer,[4] including file sharing.[5]

What I do when I’m on IRC is that I role-play for Vampire the Masquerade game.  You can play humans or vampires or even other creatures where I play.  It’s all about interaction with other people and see what happens for adventures. Everyone has a different take on this.   VtM is by white wolf publishing ( http://www.white-wolf.com )   I always enjoy roleplaying.  My husband used to do this back in the day and so have I.

Other games that are fascinating to me are the Wii Games such as Mario games and those sports games as well where you have to move.  I remember playing the 1st Super Mario game when it came out and I could never finished the game at all compared to my brothers who always finished it and was playing Zelda all the time too.  I could never gotten into Zelda.  Tetris was another favorite of mine too!   As now of this day, I think I could pass the Super Mario game (original).

I have tested out Halo with my husband two times and I like the game but takes a while for me to get used to the controller.

My husband on the other hand has played a number of games on his computer as well.  There is one that he he was gun shooter and it was a tough game to do I think.  Then there’s a zombie game he plays too which was pretty good to watch.  Of course, I’ve seen Portal but that game to me is a thinking game to figure out where the Portal has to go?    Let’s see what else…oh the new Star Wars Game (Old Republic) which looks pretty cool.

I’ve tried WoW a few times and couldn’t get into it.  I know a lot of people play that game.

Everyone has their preferences in games..some are good and some aren’t.  Some people are hardcore into it and some aren’t.  Perhaps I’ll check out a few more games down the road to test!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
