RSS

Tattoos

15 Jan

Tattoos…at first I wasn’t sure about tattoos.  I remember a conversation I had with my father in the car coming back from college about tattoos saying how I wouldn’t get one or something like that.  Well now that I’m older, it’s something that I’ve been thinking about getting one perhaps.  Probably something in the memory of my dad or heritage related perhaps. Ideas that I’ve been going around in my head are either something celtic or turtles. We shall see.

Plus my  husband has two tattoos. Never thought I’d be married to a guy who had tattoos but I knew it would a rather unique individual that I would marry.  So tattoos to me are art..amazing pieces of artwork on the body which people get for a number of reasons: heritage, memorials or overcoming major things in life as well.  For whatever reason to get a tattoo, it’s a choice and it’s a big thing.

So I decided to ask some people on Facebook why they got tattoos. Some replied the reasons they got tattoos was in the memory for someone, heritage reasons, guidance reasons and even to be artistic.   All those reasons are good.

Of course there are tons of images out there for tattoos as well as in magazines and on tv shows too.  Fascinating to hear and watch about why and what people get.

So we shall see when and where and how I get this tattoo that I’m trying to decide on.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Tattoos

  1. Jessica

    January 16, 2012 at 3:47 am

    I think that if you have a deep, meaningful reason to get a tattoo that you will never, ever regret it. You would never regret owning up to your heritage, or honoring your father… You know? I was always so indecisive about EVERYTHING I did in my life, but when I decided to get my tattoo that I shared with you on Twitter in memory of my relatives I lost to cancer in the past year… I had no doubt in my mind that it would be something I would cherish for life.

    Your reasoning behind wanting one is definitely the right reason to go for it! Can’t wait to see your ideas and thoughts on what you might get. I’m excited for you!

    P.S. – They do say that they are addicting, and I can confirm that they really, truly are. 😉

     
  2. Miss Anderson

    January 19, 2012 at 12:01 am

    I have two tattoos that I got in the past 18 months and I don’t regret either. I thought about them both for a long time. I have one on the inside of the my wrist that says “float on.” and one on the outside of my foot that says “explore life on the loose”. Both are songs with personal meaning to me, written to represent a very difficult year in my life and my power to overcome those struggles.

    Now, when I have a bad day, I look at my wrist and remember that things have been worse and that I always float on. I love my tattoos!

     

Leave a Reply

 
